Balance

elephant-balanceIn The past few months, I have been burning the candle at both ends. Work commitments have me either running around the city, or glued in front of a computer screen.

It wasn’t so bad in the winter time, but this weekend, with the beautiful weather, I didn’t even have energy to enjoy it.

I knew it was really bad when, trying to finish some work off today, I forgot I had to attend an event I was looking forward to the entire week until my 10 minute reminder went off on my phone. (Too late!)

In my clinical practice, I am always promoting balance. It is the delicate line between work and play, physical and spiritual, and the yin and yang, that makes for a healthy, happy, and functioning individual. I have been neglecting this balance for a while and it is time to re-focus, and work on recreating the balance that is so essential.

The easiest way to start doing this is to create some goals:

Goal 1: Carve out some “me” time in the schedule and stick with it. It is just too easy to work into or schedule something else into that time slot. Must refrain from putting the self last.

Goal 2: Learn to say “no.” Sometimes our own demise is of our own making. We all want to be helpful and useful, but is it driving you crazy?

I will be trying to stick to these goals for the next week, and hopefully I will be able to achieve a little more balance in my life!

Leave a Reply

